Skip to content

The adventuro app is out now

Book 50+ sports, keep every trip on your phone and earn Rewards.

adventuro
Two people standing on blue and white paddleboards on a brown river, both holding their paddles above their heads, with gree…

Gifts for paddleboarders: SUP lessons and guided trips

29 October 202611 min readadventuro

What's the best gift for a paddleboarder?

Don't buy a first-timer a paddleboard. Buy them a lesson, and let an instructor show them in a couple of hours what they'd actually want to own. For anyone already on a board, the best gift is time on the water with someone who knows it. If you can't choose, give a voucher and let them pick.

Match the present to where they are: a lesson if they've never stood up, a lesson with a tour or an improver session if they've had a go, a guided trip if they own a board. The six below run from £40 to £65 across England and Scotland.

Experience Where Price Minimum booking Book
90-minute group SUP lesson River Thames, Surrey From £55 Not stated View availability
Beginner SUP lesson River Avon, Keynsham £40 adults, £24 ages 12 to 16 Not stated View availability
Intro to paddleboarding Coniston Water, Lake District £46 1 View availability
Lesson and tour Towan Beach, Newquay £60 1 View availability
Improver lesson, Level 2 East Lothian coast £65 Not stated View availability
Guided SUP trip Portland, Dorset From £55 Not stated View availability

"From" means the page shows a from-price; the others show a single price, as read on 29 October. "Not stated" means the page shows no minimum booking. The Thames and Portland pages list group sizes (3 to 8, and 2 to 6) but don't say whether the lower number is needed to run, so ask the centre before buying a single place. Bank holidays and school holidays fill first.

Why book a lesson before you buy a board?

Because a board is a guess until you know where and how they'll paddle, and a beginner can't tell you that yet. The lesson also teaches what a hire day doesn't: kneel first, keep your eyes on the horizon instead of your feet, soften your knees, and learn how to get back on after you fall off. Skip all that and you get a wobbly first stand, a wet one, and a board that spends the winter in the hall.

Falling in is part of a first session, so all three lessons below share one catch: they'll get wet, so check each page's kit list for what they bring.

90-minute group lesson, River Thames, Surrey

The Thames group lesson is from £55 for 90 minutes on the non-tidal river at West Molesey, launching from a private pontoon. The price includes a board, paddle, buoyancy aid and safety leash. The page says ages 11 and over, with an adult for anyone under 18. One FAQ on the same page says 9, so check before booking a younger child. The page lists a group size of 3 to 8 but no minimum booking, so ask the centre before buying one place.

Three people sitting and kneeling on paddleboards on calm river water, wearing red buoyancy aids, with trees and a weir on the far bank
Three paddleboarders on a wide stretch of river, wearing buoyancy aids.

Who it suits, and the catch: a first-timer who'd rather learn in a small group than one-to-one. Wetsuits aren't included, so they need quick-drying layers, not cotton or denim, which the page says gets heavy when wet.

Beginner SUP lesson, River Avon, Keynsham

The River Avon lesson is £40 for adults and £24 for 12 to 16 year-olds, two hours, from a base in Keynsham near Avon Valley Farm. Board, paddle, leash and buoyancy aid are included, with a wetsuit if needed, and so is a BSUPA Ready to Ride certificate on completion. Groups are six per instructor.

The catch: this is the cheapest lesson here, for a first-timer who can swim 25 metres, which the page requires. Participants must be "over the age of 12", which is ambiguous for a 12-year-old, so ask. Under 18s need an adult on the water. Availability is April to October, so in December this is a voucher gift, not a dated booking.

Intro to paddleboarding, Coniston Water

Genuine Adventures runs this two-hour Coniston intro for £46 in the Lake District. Ages 13 and over, groups of up to eight, minimum booking one. The price includes a board, leash, buoyancy aid and wetsuit. You start prone, move to kneeling, then standing, and the session covers what to do if you fall in, including getting back on.

Worth knowing: it suits a teenager or adult who wants a lake rather than a river. The page asks for a medium level of fitness and mobility and recommends a private session for 10 to 12 year-olds. A towel, change of clothes, swimming costume, old shorts and proper shoes (no flip-flops, crocs or sandals) are on their list, not the centre's.

If they've had a go and want to get good

A hire board on holiday teaches one thing: that standing up is possible. Coaching is the better next present, because it fixes the stroke and the turn before the bad habits set in. If they're torn between a board and a kayak, SUP vs kayaking is worth a read.

Lesson and tour, Towan Beach, Newquay

Newquay Activity Centre's lesson and tour is £60 for about two hours once the kit is on, so allow two and a half. You start at its watersports centre, a short walk from Towan beach, with a lesson, then paddle a guided tour. The page lists the experience level as beginner friendly, with no prior knowledge needed, so a first-timer isn't left out. You'll do one of two routes, the sea route along Towan Head or the Gannel estuary, and the page doesn't promise either. Minimum age 8, groups up to eight, minimum booking one. Included are a wetsuit, buoyancy aid, board and paddle, plus heated changing rooms, hot showers, lockers and free photos.

Who it suits, and the catch: someone who'd get bored of a flat lesson and wants to go somewhere. Either route, everyone must be able to swim and be comfortable in open water; the FAQ says 50 metres. Conditions shape the day, and the page labels cancellation as strict, so read the terms before buying a dated slot.

Improver lesson, Level 2, East Lothian coast

Ocean Vertical's Level 2 improver session is £65 for three hours (meet 20 minutes before the session), two of them on the water. You meet at Hedderwick Hill Stables, near Belhaven, Dunbar, and they drive you to the water. The coaching covers technique, paddleboard water safety, and self and peer rescue. The price includes a board, leash, buoyancy aid, wetsuit, boots and rash vest. Groups are six at most.

A paddleboarder in a blue top carrying a board and paddle through shallow surf towards the sea, with a large pale rock island and a white tower on it in the background
A paddleboarder carrying a board into the surf, with a rock island offshore.

Not for everyone: this one is for someone who can already stand up and paddle. The page asks for some experience or the Level 1 session, confidence in cold water and full immersion, and 15 metres of swimming. No age is shown, though the FAQ mentions an age limit with some flexibility through the live chat, so ask before buying for a child. Availability is April to November, and for December to May the page says to message the live chat.

If they already own a board

Don't try to improve on the board they chose. Give them water they haven't paddled and a guide who knows it.

Guided SUP trip, Portland, Dorset

Sea Kayak Dorset's guided trip from Castletown is from £55 for 3.5 hours, ages 8 and over. It supplies premium boards, buoyancy aids and wetsuit options, and the page says you're welcome to bring your own board if you tell them beforehand. No previous experience or high fitness is needed, and the plan is a paddle around Castletown Harbour with chances to swim. The page lists group sizes of 2 to 6 but no minimum booking, so ask the centre before buying one place.

Who it suits, and the catch: the easiest of the six to give to someone already kitted out. It's pitched as a guided trip with an introduction, so for stroke work the East Lothian session is the better buy. Cancellation is labelled strict, and the page says trips may be rescheduled or cancelled in unsafe weather. Sunscreen and towels aren't included.

What kit should you give, and what should you skip?

For a first-timer, skip all of it. The lessons above supply a board and a buoyancy aid, and a starter bundle bought before they've stood up solves a problem they don't have yet. Wait until they've had a lesson, then ask what they'd use.

For someone who paddles already, small kit gets used every session: a dry bag and a waterproof phone pouch. If they own an inflatable, an electric pump saves their shoulders. UK water stays colder than the air for longer than most people expect, so what I'd back is warmth for afterwards: a changing robe and a flask.

For what to wear, see our paddleboarding clothing guide. If they do want a board, choosing a paddleboard covers what to look for.

What if you can't decide?

December is an awkward month to book a paddleboard. The River Avon lesson runs April to October, and East Lothian April to November. A voucher gets round that: it's valid for 18 months from the day you buy it, so it can wait for warmer water.

It arrives by email within minutes, which suits a late buyer, and it's digital only. There's no physical card, but you can print it or forward it. They can spend it on any activity on adventuro, subject to availability, and use it in parts, with any balance staying on the same code, say a lesson in spring and a guided trip later. You can suggest an activity, such as one of the lessons above, and they can still pick anything else. Buy a gift voucher.

If they're like this, book that

If they... Book
have never stood on a board and like small groups The Thames group lesson, from £55 (the page lists a group size of 3 to 8 but no minimum booking, so ask the centre before buying one place)
are a confident swimmer and the cheapest lesson will do The River Avon lesson, £40 for adults
want a lake, and are 13 or over Coniston, £46
want to go somewhere, whether they've stood up once or never (it's beginner friendly) The Towan Beach lesson and tour, £60
are comfortable standing and want to improve The East Lothian improver lesson, £65
own a board already The Portland guided trip, from £55 (the page lists group sizes of 2 to 6 but no minimum booking, so ask the centre before buying one place)
are impossible to buy for A gift voucher

Browse paddleboarding experiences across the UK, or see our guide to gifts for all paddle sports if they might swap the board for a kayak or canoe.

🌿 A portion of adventuro bookings supports conservation through our partnership with Rewilding Britain.

Questions about paddleboarding gifts

How much does a paddleboarding experience cost?

In the six above, from £40 to £65. The River Avon lesson is £40 for adults and £24 for 12 to 16 year-olds, Coniston is £46, the Thames lesson and Portland trip are from £55, Towan Beach is £60 and the East Lothian improver lesson is £65. Check the page for your date and party before you buy.

Is a lesson a good gift for a complete beginner?

Yes, and I'd pick it over a board. The lessons supply a board and buoyancy aid, but each page lists its own kit to bring: swimwear or quick-drying layers, shoes that can get wet, a towel, a change of clothes. The Thames page says wetsuits aren't included. They will fall in; Coniston's session covers getting back on, and Towan's instructor helps.

What age can they start paddleboarding?

Towan Beach and Portland say 8 and over, the Thames lesson says 11 (one FAQ says 9), the River Avon says over 12, and Coniston says 13 and over. East Lothian shows no age, but its FAQ mentions an age limit with flexibility via live chat, so ask before buying for a child. Under 18s need an adult at the Thames lesson and on the water at the Avon.

Do they need to be able to swim?

Several pages say so. The River Avon requires 25 metres, Towan Beach says 50 in its FAQ, and East Lothian asks for 15 plus confidence in cold water. Coniston and Portland state no requirement, and the Thames page says paddling is possible without swimming in a buoyancy aid, though better if you can. Ask the centre if they're nervous in the water.

Can they use it in winter?

It depends on the page. The River Avon runs April to October and the East Lothian lesson April to November, with live chat for December to May. The other four state no season. A voucher is valid for 18 months, so they can book once the water is warmer and the days are longer.